Steward's Report

SUNDAY 01/27/2019
(1) INQUIRY – 1ST RACE – DISQUALIFICATION
The stewards reviewed video to confirm observed interference mid-stretch. Despite the jockey’s best efforts to avoid a collision, the # 3 horse lugged in hard and into # 2, forcing the latter into the rail. Having cost # 2 the opportunity at a better placing, # 3 was disqualified from 3rd and placed 4th behind # 2.

TUESDAY 01/29/2019
(1) INQUIRY – 4TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The stewards posted the inquiry after witnessing 4 horses getting jammed up away from the starting gate. Replays show # 4 breaking hard to the right into the three horses to his outside. Since the incident was the result of actions caused by the horse that finished last, no change in the order of finish was required.

(2) INQUIRY – 7TH RACE – DISQUALIFICATION
The stewards reviewed the race to review an incident occurring inside the 1/16th pole. Replays confirm # 4 drifted out into the path of a rapidly approaching # 8, forcing that rider to alter course. Since the interference cost # 8 a potential win, # 4 was disqualified and placed 2nd behind # 8.

MONDAY 01/14/2019
(1) INQUIRY – 4TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The stewards posted the inquiry to review an incident approaching the 3/16th pole. Replays confirm the # 5 drifted out slightly coming out of the turn taking # 6 a little wide. However, there was insufficient evidence of enough interference to warrant a disqualification. As such, no change was made to the order of finish.

TUESDAY 01/15/2019
(1) INQUIRY – 3RD RACE – NO CHANGE
The stewards posted the inquiry to review an incident observed inside the 1/16th pole. Replays confirm the # 5 drifted in on # 6, but the incident didn’t require # 6 to check or alter course. Since the potential for a different outcome wasn’t affected, no change was made to the order of finish.

(2) INQUIRY – 6TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The stewards reviewed the race to determine the cause of the # 8 horse falling with jockey Eduardo Gutierrez-Sosa. The replays show the horse went down while in the clear. Since there was no interference involved, the order of finish was left as-is.

(3) INQUIRY – 8TH RACE – NO CHANGE
This inquiry was posted as a result of the rider of # 4, Javier Matias, becoming unseated at about the 3/16th pole. Video shows the accident occurred while the horse was racing clear. No change.

TUESDAY 01/08/2019
(1) TRAINER OBJECTION – 3RD RACE – NO CHANGE
The objection was posted at the behest of the trainer of the # 3 horse, who finished 2nd, against winning horse # 7. Replays confirm # 7 lugged in the final strides of the race, making slight contact. However, since it was the final strides, and # 7 was outdistancing # 3 at the time, it was deemed the interference was inconsequential to the outcome. No change.

MONDAY 12/31/2018
(1) INQUIRY – 6TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The stewards posted the inquiry due to an incident at the 16th pole in which jockey Francisco Diaz-Lopez became unseated from # 8, “Nuhouse”. Replays show the incident happened due to the horse jumping sideways as it crossed the shadow of the end of the grandstand. No change in the order of finish was warranted.

(2) INQUIRY – 8TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The inquiry sign was illuminated after having witnessed tight quarters away from the gate between the inside three horses. Replays show # 1 breaking out slightly into # 2, who was simultaneously drifting in. The contact resulted in # 2 hitting the hip of # 3, who was also drifting in slightly. As all three contributed, no change was made.

TUESDAY 12/18/2018
(1) INQUIRY/OBJECTION – 2ND RACE – DISQUALIFICATION
The stewards posted the inquiry due to an incident past the quarter pole as the horses were rounding the turn into the stretch. An objection was also filed by the rider of # 6, claiming foul against # 7. Replays show evidence of # 7 taking the last part of the turn wide, taking the path of # 6, forcing # 6 to check sharply, costing momentum and the opportunity at a better placing. The stewards disqualified # 7 from 3rd and placed him 5th behind # 6.

(2) TRAINER OBJECTION – 3RD RACE – NO CHANGE
The objection sign was posted after having received a complaint from the trainer of # 8 claiming foul against # 2 coming out of the turn. In reviewing the replays the stewards witnessed # 2 lugging out in front of # 8, but was clear. The rider of # 8 never checked or altered course. Since # 8 was not compromised the opportunity at a better placing, the results were left as-is.

SUNDAY 12/16/2018
(1) INQUIRY/OBJECTIONS – 3RD RACE – NO CHANGE
The stewards reviewed the replay due to tight quarters and horses being checked as the horses were hitting the main part of the stretch from the quarter chute. There were also two objections filed. One from the rider of # 6 against # 7, and one from the owner of # 7 against the # 8. Films show the biggest contributor to the incident was # 9, who lugged in applying pressure on the horses to his inside. The # 9 finished last, making a disqualification moot.

TUESDAY 12/04/2018
(1) INQUIRY – 9TH RACE – DISQUALIFICATION
The stewards posted the inquiry to review the circumstances leading to the # 1 horse “Secret Echo” falling as he approached the 1/16th pole. Replays show the horse was gaining ground on the # 5 horse as the latter was lugging out, eventually bumping # 1 in the shoulder with its’ hip. The bump caught # 1 mid-stride, knocking the front feet out from under the horse, causing the collapse. For the incident, # 5 was disqualified from 4th and declared unplaced.

 

(2) INQUIRY – 10TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The inquiry light was illuminated as a result of the # 1 horse, “G S Cowboy Cash” failing to leave the starting gate as the field was dispatched. Video shows the horse was not prevented the opportunity at a fair start, but rather refused on its’ own volition. As such, the horse was deemed to be a starter, with no refunds on wagers granted.

MONDAY 12/03/2018
(1) OBJECTION – 1ST RACE – NO CHANGE
The stewards posted the objection at the behest of jockey Eduardo Sosa who was aboard # 1 and lodged foul against # 2 approximately 50 to 75 yards away from the gate. The stewards could see no video evidence of interference and left the results stand as is.

(2) INQUIRY/DOUBLE OBJECTION – 2ND RACE – DISQUALIFICATION
Both the inquiry and objection were illuminated as a result of two situations occurring during the dash. The rider of # 4 called an objection against # 2, but the claim of foul was disallowed as the incident didn’t affect the outcome of the race. Sixth place finisher # 4 was beaten for fifth by # 5 by 3 lengths, a distance greater than he was cost. Meanwhile, the rider of # 5 lodged an objection against # 2, claiming interference. Replays show although # 5 broke in some, # 2 lugged out hard and took the racing path of # 5, forcing the latter to check, resulting in him being beaten by a long neck, a distance less than he was cost. Having cost # 5 the opportunity at a better placing, # 2 was disqualified from 2nd and placed 5th behind # 5.

(3) INQUIRY/DOUBLE OBJECTION – 2ND RACE – DISQUALIFICATION
The trainers of # 6 and # 7 called an objection against the horses on either side of them down the lane. The stewards had also posted an inquiry into the incident. Replays show # 7 lugged in and into # 6, who was forced into the hip of # 5, turning that horse out. As the # 5 struggled to regain a straight path from the contact, the # 6 was forced back into # 7, who in turn was forced into the hip of # 8, causing # 8 to be turned in and ultimately in front of # 7, resulting in both # 7 and # 6 being shuffled back. Since # 7 started the chain of events, he was disqualified from 5th and placed 7th behind # 6.

(4) OBJECTION – 8TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The rider of # 1, Patrick Henry. Jr. lodged an objection against # 3 as the approached the 3/8 pole. The # 1 was about a length off the leader (# 3) and just to the inside. The stewards ruled insufficient evidence to warrant a disqualification, arguing that instead of hanging back as they approached the turn, Mr. Henry should have either urged his mount earlier to take control of the rail, or ease back and go around prior to the horses changing leads.

SUNDAY 11/25/2018
(1) INQUIRY/OBJECTIONS – 1ST RACE – DISQUALIFICATION
The stewards posted the inquiry after having observed several situations unfold throughout the running of the race. Additionally, three objections were lodged. The stewards first looked at interaction between the # 5 horse, “Hop Skip and Jump” checking back near the wire, due to # 7, “I Spot a Cartel” (ridden by Eduardo Gutierrez-Sosa) lugging in and taking the path of # 5. The rider of # 5, Luis Gonzalez also claimed foul against # 7. For that action, # 7 was disqualified from 1st and placed 4th behind # 5.

The rider of the # 2 horse (“Judges Magic Design”, ridden by Robert Burney) claimed foul against the # 1 horse, ”Papa Dan” with Jose Guerrero up. Video replays show the # 1 horse lugging out in front of # 2 but did not cost the latter the opportunity at a better placing as # 2 was running erratically as well, contributing to the outcome.

The rider (Alex Anaya) of the # 4, “Fierce Hawk” called an objection against the horses to the outside of him, however, the pressure was due to pressure from # 7, who had already been disqualified from 1st and placed 4th from the first incident mentioned. Since # 4 had been placed 2nd from that inquiry, no further action was required.

MONDAY 11/12/2018
(1) INQUIRY/OBJECTION – 1ST RACE – DISQUALIFICATION
The stewards posted the inquiry after having observed the # 6 horse, “Preachin Lady Star” checking hard as the field approached the wire. The horse’s jockey, Patrick Henry Jr. also claimed foul against # 7, “Flyin Fierce”. Video replays show the # 1 horse, “Bunnys Best Advise” ridden by Luis Gonzalez, lugging out hard down the stretch. The # 1 cleared the # 2, but then continued out, stacking up the # 3, # 5, and eventually # 6, who was forced to check back and out behind # 7, finishing last. Replays also show that # 7 was lugging in, however, the damage had been done from the inside. For the interference # 1 was disqualified from 2nd and placed last behind # 6.

SUNDAY 11/04/2018
(1) TRAINER OBJECTION – 1ST RACE – NO CHANGE
Juan Leon, the trainer of the # 5 horse “JS Wildthing” called an objection against the # 8 horse, “JSG Cartellas Turbo” at the break. Replays show # 4 broke out into # 5, forcing the latter out to # 8. The # 5 then continued lugging out into # 8, as much as # 8 was lugging into # 5. Both contributed to the minor contact, making a disqualification unwarranted.

(2) OBJECTION – 2ND RACE – NO CHANGE
Eduardo Sosa, aboard # 2 horse, “Hawkin Sun”, claimed foul against the # 3 horse, “Jesstafiably Jess”, ridden by Jose Figuero, away from the latch. Replays show evidence of # 4 breaking in into # 3, who in turn followed # 2, who was simultaneously breaking in to # 1, making things tight on all three inside horses. As # 4 finished 6th and # 2 participated in the incident, no change to the order of finish was made.

(3) OBJECTION – 6TH RACE – NO CHANGE
An objection was lodged against “At U Lover” (# 4) and rider Vladimir Jensen going into the turn by the rider of “Tappin the Keg”, (# 2) ridden by Luis Gonzalez. An examination of the films showed # 1 was lugging out slightly on the backstretch, with # 2 giving up some room. The # 3 shuffled out of the mix leaving # 4 just to the outside of # 2. As the lead horse (# 6) hit the turn and shifted leads, the second place horse on his hip (# 4) was left no opportunity but to shift in slightly, causing Gonzalez to choose to take back. The stewards, finding insufficient evidence to warrant a disqualification of any party or parties for the tight quarters, left the results as is.

TUESDAY 10/30/2018
(1) INQUIRY – 5TH RACE– DISQUALIFICATION
The inquiry was posted due to interaction between the # 3, Jackson Teller, and the # 4, Hunters Vow. Films show # 4 lugging in on # 3 from the 1/8 pole to the 1/16 pole, causing # 3 to check and alter course out behind # 4. Since the incident cost # 3 momentum and the opportunity at a better placing, # 4 was disqualified from 1st and placed 2nd behind # 3.

MONDAY 10/29/2018
(1) INQUIRY – 3RD RACE– NO CHANGE
The stewards posted the inquiry after observing an incident mid-stretch. Films show that although # 7 (Jacango) was drifting in on the # 4, EZ Frosty Morn, the # 4 was causing some of his own issues, contributing to the final outcome of the race. The stewards therefore ruled insufficient evidence to warrant a disqualification.

(2) INQUIRY – 4TH RACE– DISQUALIFICATION
The stewards posted this inquiry after observing an incident as the field of horses left the chute and hit the main part of the track. Films show the 2nd place finisher, National Browser, in spite of jockey Alex Anaya’s efforts, bolted out abruptly from the rail, causing a chain reaction that interfered with the entire field. National Browser was disqualified and placed last.

TUESDAY 10/23/2018
(1) OBJECTION – 4TH RACE– NO CHANGE
Jockey Patrick Henry, aboard the # 2, “Brown Tiger”, lodged a claim of foul against the # 3, “D O’s Reignoffire” ridden by Lorenzo Lopez. The incident happened going around the turn. None of the video angles reviewed by the stewards substantiated his claim. They show that although things were a little tight between the two leaders, the # 2 always had racing room, and the rider never had to check or alter course. The results were left as is.

SUNDAY 10/21/2018
(1) INQUIRY – 5TH RACE– NO CHANGE
The stewards illuminated the inquiry as they reviewed a mishap immediately after the horses were dispatched for the 5th race. Replays confirm the # 3 horse, “Trickette”, with rider Lorenzo Lopez aboard, stumbled abruptly losing its rider. Since the horse was clear no action by the board was necessary.

MONDAY 10/15/2018
(1) OBJECTION – 2ND RACE – NO CHANGE
Jacqueline Smith, the trainer of the # 4 horse “Megatron Ruler” called an objection against the # 3 horse, “Ozark Daredevil” at the break in the 870 yard event. Replays show # 3 did break out some into the # 4 the first stride or two away from the gate, however, the incident cost # 4 very little ground or momentum. Following the incident, # 4 became outpaced into the turn by the field and proceeded to take the turn very wide, costing him a lot of ground. The # 3 finished first, while # 4 finished 3rd, 5 lengths off the winner, and a couple lengths off the second place finisher. Since the horse was beaten by a distance much more than it was cost, no change in the order of finish was warranted.