Steward's Report

TUESDAY 2/09/2016
(1) INQUIRY – 8TH RACE – DISQUALIFICATION

The stewards posted the inquiry after having observed #8 “TAHKODHA SONGKING” having to check sharply off heels at the 3/8 pole, due to #5 “DE SIX” and rider Rocco Bowen shifting out in front of #8. Films show and Rocco Bowen confirmed the #5 was blowing the turn and Mr. Bowen was unable to keep his mount from interfering with #8. The #5 went on to finish 2nd. The #8 just missed 2nd and finished 3rd in a dead heat with #11. As a result of the interference #5 was disqualified and placed 4th behind the dead heat.

MONDAY 2/08/2016
(1) OBJECTION – 3RD RACE – NO CHANGE

The stewards reviewed the race at the behest of Tyler Walker who was aboard #6 “MY BEST BUNNY YET” and claimed interference by the #7 away from the gate. Films show #7 did break in slightly while #5 broke out slightly making things tight for #6. At the heart of the stewards’ debate was whether Mr. Walker had room to race when he chose to take back and go around. A majority of the stewards argued Mr. Walker always had room to race had he not taken back; therefore the stewards ruled insufficient evidence to warrant a disqualification and left the finish as-is.

MONDAY 2/01/2016
(1) OBJECTION – 6TH RACE – NO CHANGE

The stewards reviewed the replays due to jockey Rocco Bowen’s claim of foul alleging interference inside of the 1/16 pole, from the #6 horse “COMMANDER LUTE” ridden by Leonel Camacho-Flores. Mr. Bowen, who was aboard the #3 horse “THISDEWARSFORYOU” stated his mount was knocked off stride due to the contact. Films show there was contact between the two but both mounts contributed as the inside horse came out while the outside horse came in. Further, the pan shot shows #6 rapidly overtaking #3 with the wire coming up quickly, convincing the Board the contact did not deprive #3 the opportunity at better placing. The results were left as-is with #6 keeping the win and #3 finishing 2nd.

(2) INQUIRY – 10TH RACE – DISQUALIFICATION
The stewards posted the inquiry to review the actions the #1 horse “CARDINAL N GOLD” with jockey David Martin up. The horse started from the one hole but finished 2nd in the middle of the track. En route to the middle of the track, the horse took the path of #2 forcing it’s rider to check, and then interfered with #4, costing that horse momentum and an opportunity at a better placing. For those actions #1 was disqualified from 2nd and placed last behind the #2.

TUESDAY 1/26/2016
(1) OBJECTION – 6TH RACE – NO CHANGE

The stewards illuminated the tote board with the objection sign following a claim of foul by jockey Tyler Walker aboard #1 “COOKIES AND MILK”. Mr. Walker alleged interference by jockey Sheena Ryan who was aboard #3 “ANITA SUNSET” at the 7/16 pole. The pan shot shows Mr. Tyler head and head with Ms. Ryan approaching the ½ mile marker, and Mr. Tyler backing out a full length by the time they reached the 7/16 pole. The overhead view from the north tower shows Mr. Tyler had plenty of room and chose to take back of his own volition, rendering a disqualification unwarranted.

TUESDAY 1/19/2016
(1) INQUIRY/OBJECTION – 3RD RACE – DISQUALIFICATION

The stewards posted the inquiry after observed interference early on in the race. Jockey Tyler Walker who was aboard # 8 “THINKIN OF GIRLS” also called an objection into the incident, alleging interference from # 9, “SNEAKIN TR”. Films confirm interference several strides from the gate from “SNEAKIN TR”, who continued to impede “THINKIN OF GIRLS” for another approximately 75 yards. “SNEAKIN TR” won the race while “THINKIN OF GIRLS” finished 4th. For the interference “SNEAKIN TR” was disqualified from 1st and placed 4th behind “THINKIN OF GIRLS”.

(2) OBJECTIONS – 4TH RACE – NO CHANGE
Jockey Jorge Rosales aboard the #2 horse lodged an objection against the #1 at the start. While #1 did break out slightly placing the #2 into the hip of #1, turning the latter out some, films show most of the interference was the result of action in the middle of the pack, which ultimately forced #2 directly behind #1. Trainer Nick Lowe called the stand alleging interference of his horse (#5). The #5 broke out slightly bumping off #6 and getting turned slightly in, crowding the #4 into the #3 and the #3 into #2 who then in turn was forced behind #1. The stewards therefore voted no change, citing insufficient evidence to warrant a disqualification.

TUESDAY 1/12/2016
(1) JOCKEY OBJECTION – 6TH RACE – DISQUALIFICATION

The objection light was illuminated after jockey Debbie Hoonan, aboard #5 “WISE” lodged an objection against #1 “KNIGHT CLUB” ridden by Leonel Camacho-Flores. As the two came out of the turn into the stretch run, #1 who was to the inside and in front of the rapidly approaching #5, drifted out and into the path of #5, forcing Ms. Hoonan to alter course and lose momentum. For that action, #1 was disqualified from 1st and placed 2nd behind #5.

MONDAY 1/11/2016
(1) JOCKEY OBJECTION – 7TH RACE – NO CHANGE

Jockey Rocco Bowen aboard #4 “CAYMUS KAT” lodged an objection against #3 “ISLE CHALLENGE” ridden by Kassie Guglielmino. As the two entered the main part of the track from the 6 furlong chute, the 3 horse drifted out placing some pressure on #4. However, #4 gave up the room for #3, always had a lane to place feet, and opted to take out and go to the rail.

(2) STEWARDS INQUIRY – 8TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The inquiry was illuminated due to the spill at the ½ mile pole. Since #9 “STARDEMALION” was racing clear when he fell, no change in the order of finish was warranted.

TUESDAY 12/29/2015
(1) STEWARDS INQUIRY – 4TH RACE – DISQUALIFICATION

The inquiry was posted as the stewards reviewed the actions of #5 “STORMY CROSS” with Jorge Rosales up and #10 “TWO SPINS” ridden by Rocco Bowen at about the 1/8th pole. Films show “TWO SPINS” gaining ground on “STORMY CROSS” until the latter veered out and into the path of “TWO SPINS” causing Mr. Bowen to check sharply to avoid heels. As “TWO SPINS” was beat by a head for 5th by “STORMY CROSS”, the stewards ordered a disqualification and placed “STORMY CROSS” 6th behind “TWO SPINS”.

(2) STEWARDS INQUIRY – 10TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The stewards posted the inquiry to review an incident near the 1/16th pole in which the 4th place finisher, “UNCORK IT” and jockey Francisco Diaz-Lopez drifted out in front of fifth place finisher, “IN ABSOLUTE AWE” who was ridden by Kassie Guglielmino. The results were left as is due to the Board having ruled inconclusive evidence to warrant a disqualification.

SUNDAY 12/27/2015
(1) STEWARDS INQUIRY – 1ST RACE – NO CHANGE

The inquiry was posted after #7 “BA NOWIN OKIES” was observed leaving the starting gate very tardy. Films show and Starter Harold Kent confirmed the horse threw its head down just as Mr. Kent dispatched the field. Since the horse was responsible for the incident and was not prevented from obtaining a fair start, the horse was declared a legitimate starter and the order of finished was left as is.

(2) RIDER OBJECTION – 3RD RACE – NO CHANGE
Jockey Tyler Walker (aboard #10, “A LUCKY DEMON) filed an objection against the #9, “FANCY RADIANT DASH”, with Guillermo Muro up. Mr. Walker alleged interference throughout the dash. While both horses drifted to the outside, Mr. Walker never had to check, and films failed to provide other evidence sufficient to warrant a disqualification.

(3) RIDER OBJECTION – 9TH RACE – NO CHANGE
Jockey Jake Samuels (aboard #3 “PLUMS WATERBOY”) lodged an objection against Rocco Bowen (aboard #1 “GILLY GONE) stating Mr. Bowen had applied pressure down the lane. The stewards could find no video evidence that would compel them to disqualify and left the results as is.

TUESDAY 12/22/2015
(1) STEWARDS INQUIRY – 6TH RACE – NO CHANGE

The inquiry was posted as a result of the accident at the 3/16th pole. Films show #9 “JOANIE’S TICKET”, vying for the lead and racing clear when she gave way in the front end and went down with jockey Jose Zunino. The #2 horse, “WINE AT THE PARK”, ridden by Jorge Rosales, collided with the fallen horse, unseating and stumbling over her own jockey and causing her to go down as well. Since #9 was racing clear when she fell, and since #2 was not out finished by the horse interfering with her, no change was warranted.

TUESDAY 12/15/2015
(1) TRAINER OBJECTION – 3RD RACE – NO CHANGE

Trainer Sam Dronen lodged an objection claiming his horse “VERTICAL LIFT” was interfered with by the #1 horse, “SOMETIMES A LADY”, at the head of the stretch. Although “SOMETIMES A LADY” was lugging out and came out of the turn wide, she had “VERTICAL LIFT” cleared by 2 and a half lengths. Therefore the results were left as-is.

MONDAY 12/14/2015
(1) INQUIRY/OBJECTIONS – 3RD RACE – DISQUALIFICATION

The inquiry sign was illuminated due to observed interference approaching the wire between # 3 “FRANKIE VALENTINE” and # 4, “HEAD TURNIN OKEY”. The trainer of # 3, (John Harris) and Jockey Kassie Guglielmino also each lodged a claim of foul against the # 4. Films confirm jockey Francisco Diaz-Lopez was unable to keep his horse from lugging in and taking the path of “FRANKIE VALENTINE”. Having cost the horse the opportunity at a better placing, “HEAD TURNIN OKEY” was disqualified from 4th and placed 7th behind “FRANKIE VALENTINE”.

(2) OBJECTION – 7TH RACE – DISQUALIFICATION
The objection sign was posted after jockey Jake Samuels filed an objection against the # 1 horse, “SHUDDLE” ridden by Jorge Rosales, near the 1/8 pole. Films show his mount (“BAD AS CAN BE”) gaining momentum and position prior to “SHUDDLE” shifting out under left handed urging and taking his path. Having cost Samuel’s mount momentum and position, “SHUDDLE” was disqualified from 4th and placed 5th behind “BAD AS CAN BE”.

TUESDAY 12/8/2015
(1) INQUIRY – 2ND RACE – NO CHANGE

The inquiry sign was illuminated as a result of a collision taking place near the 7/16 pole that unseated two jockeys. Films show the # 1 horse “STORM IN PARIS” with Deborah Hoonan up, veered sharply to the her outside colliding with the # 4 horse “LIL’ MISSBLUEJEANS”, ridden by Francisco Diaz-Lopez, unseating both riders. It appeared the horse shied away from something on the in-field. As neither horse finished, there was no disqualification in order and the results were left as-is.

MONDAY 12/7/2015
(1) TRAINER OBJECTION – 1ST RACE – NO CHANGE

Trainer Clifton Dennis filed an objection into the start of the race due to contact between his horse, “SIS TAR” who broke from the # 1 position and # 2 “JEALOUS JESS”. The latter did break in and brushed the inside horse but the contact was fairly slight. In the next several strides contact was made on two more occasions, with the inside horse coming out and the outside horse coming in. Since both were having trouble getting off each other, the Board ruled there was insufficient evidence to warrant a disqualification.

TUESDAY 12/1/2015
(1) INQUIRY – 8TH RACE – NO CHANGE

“OLDTIMERS VISION” lost rider Jake Samuels a few strides away from the gate prompting the stewards to lodge an inquiry. Films show the rider was unseated due to his mount stumbling hard enough to throw Samuels over his head. Since the horse was racing clear at the time, the results were left as is.

MONDAY 11/30/2015
(1) DOUBLE INQUIRY – 2ND RACE – NO CHANGE

The inquiry was posted to review possible interference away from the gate from #4, “A TREE DASH” with #5, “ON A POWER HIGH” and #6, “I’M FLIRTIN WITH FIRE”. Also reviewed was the incident near the wire between #3, ALLIWANNABEISGONE” and “A TREE DASH”. None of the riders wished to file an objection with the stewards, and those who were talked to during the inquiry felt the incidents did not rise to the level of disqualification. The Board ultimately gave them the benefit of the doubt and let the results stand as is.

(2) INQUIRY – 3RD RACE – NO CHANGE
An inquiry was conducted following a spill at the 1/16th pole. Films confirm #5 “TSUNAMI KIDD”, with jockey Debbie Hoonan aboard, fell while racing clear, rendering any change in the order of finish unwarranted.

(3) OBJECTION – 5TH RACE – NO CHANGE
Leonel Camacho-Flores called an objection due to contact six or seven strides before the wire between his horse “MUSICAL DELIGHT” and the #10 horse “CASSIDY COMMAND” ridden by Tyler Walker. Camacho-Flores finished 3rd while Walker finished 1st. While it appears the contact did cost Camacho-Flores 2nd place, the blame was not placed squarely on Walker. Films show Camacho-Flores switched to a left handed crop and angled out prior to the incident causing his mount to lug out as much as Walker’s drifted in. As there was equal culpability by both parties for the contact, the order of finish was left as is.

(4) INQUIRY – 7TH RACE – NO CHANGE
Another inquiry was conducted following the spill at the 1/16th pole. Films confirm Jake Samuels was leading the race and racing clear when his mount “PAPA’S ANGELS” fell. Therefore the order of finish was left as is.

MONDAY 11/16/2015
(1) INQUIRY / OBJECTION – 6TH RACE – NO CHANGE

The inquiry was posted following the race to review observed contact at the 3/16th pole between #3, “RAESBEAUTIFUL HOPE” with rider Leonel Camacho-Flores, the # 6, “STRIDING FOR GOLD” with Tyler Walker up, and #8, “CASA CHUMAREE” ridden by Jake Samuels. Mr. Walker also called an objection into the incident. Films confirm that #8 initiated the exchange by shifting out briefly into the path of a fast closing #3, bumping and causing #3 to check sharply to the outside to avoid heels. In doing so, #3 in turn bumped #6. Since #8 was out finished by both of the others, no disqualification was warranted.

MONDAY 11/09/2015
(1) OBJECTION – 4TH RACE – NO CHANGE

Jockey Eduardo Gutierrez-Sosa, aboard the #3 horse “DIVA B GONE” lodged an objection against #5, “SILVIES” ridden by Leonel Camacho-Flores. Sosa alleged interference mid-race due to #5 lugging in and taking his path. The Board disagreed with his assertion. Sosa’s mount was bearing out as well contributing to the incident and always had racing room to the inside of #5, but chose of his own volition to guide his mount to the outside of #5.

TUESDAY 11/3/2015
(1) INQUIRY / OBJECTION – 3RD RACE – DISQUALIFICATION

The stewards posted the inquiry to review an incident near the 3/16 between the #4 horse “Thisdewarsforyou” ridden by Leonel Camacho-Flores and the #5 horse “Riotuff” with jockey Guillermo Muro. Camacho-Flores also filed an objection. Muro confirmed over the phone he had interfered with Camacho-Flores, stating his horse was a first time starter and ducked from the crop. Films show contact was made twice and that for the better part of 1/16th of mile, “Thisdewarsforyou” was prevented from maintaining the momentum required to hold his position. “Riotuff” finished second but was disqualified and placed behind “Thisdewarsforyou” who finished fourth.

SATURDAY 10/31/2015
(1) OBJECTION – 2ND RACE – NO CHANGE

Jockey Leonel Camacho-Flores (aboard #3 “Thinkin of Girls”) filed an objection against the #4, “Lil Touch of Dixie”, (with Kassie Guglielmino up), away from the gate. “Lil Touch of Dixie” won the dash while “Thinkin of Girls” finished 2nd. Guglielmino and her mount were held blameless however as they were part of a chain reaction that started due to a collision the first jump out between the #6 and #5. That bump sent the #5 into the #4, who in turn bumped #3.

(2) INQUIRY – 5TH RACE – NON-STARTER DECLARED
#6 “Cat King” was being fractious in the starting gate just prior to the start of the race and unseated jockey Javier Matias. Starter Harold Kent reported he dispatched the field mistakenly thinking the rider had regained his seat and was ready for the start. Having been denied the opportunity for a fair start, the Board of Stewards felt it deserving to the betting public to declare the horse a non-starter and ordered all funds wagered on the horse be refunded.

(3) INQUIRY – 7TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The Board posted the inquiry sign as a result of #6 “Gabe’s Pride” losing his rider, Rocco Bowen, as he left the starting gate. Films show “Gabe’s Pride” had every opportunity for a fair start but failed to capitalize on that having lunged in the air unseating the rider. For that, the stewards ruled the horse be considered a starter.

TUESDAY 10/27/2015
(1) TRAINER OBJECTION – 2ND RACE – NO CHANGE

Trainer Jacqueline Smith called an objection following the 2nd race claiming interference out of the gate. Her horse “Ginwillmakeusin” with Javier Matias up broke out of the three hole about a half length off of the two horse “Gilly Gone” ridden by Jake Samuels. Samuels mount did break out and make contact, shuffling “Ginwillmakeusin” back. However, Matias failed to make sufficient effort to persevere over the next 3/8 of a mile, with feet forward while yarding back on the reins. Due to those actions the Board was unwilling to award Matias a better placing.

(2) INQUIRY – 6TH RACE – NO CHANGE
The inquiry was posted due a very slow break from the gate by # 6, “Pioneer Charlie” ridden by Leonel Camacho-Flores. Films confirmed the horse was fractious in the gate prior to the break and again at the start when he reared as the doors opened. Since the horse was not prevented a fair start but by his own actions, no action was taken, with the results standing as is.

MONDAY 10/26/2015
(1) INQUIRY/OBJECTION – 1ST RACE – DISQUALIFICATION

The Stewards posted the inquiry sign directly following the first race to review an incident at about the 1/16 pole. Also illuminated was the objection sign at the behest of Jockey Kassie Guglielmino. The #5 horse “Head Turnin Okey”, under right handed urging by Jockey Luis Gonzalez, drifted in and ultimately took the path of #1, “Shimmie Horn, ridden by Ms. Guglielmino, costing the latter momentum and the opportunity for a better placing. “Head Turnin Okey” went on to win the race while “Shimmie Horn” finished 5th. For the interference, “Head Turnin Okey” was disqualified and placed 5th behind “Shimmie Horn”.

TUESDAY 10/20/2015
(1) INQUIRY – 5th RACE – NO CHANGE

The Stewards posted the inquiry sign following the fifth race to review some bumping in the stretch run between the 2 horse “Hawksbury Ridge”, ridden by Kassie Guglielmino, and the 4 horse, “Fastest” with Francisco Lopez up. “Hawksbury Ridge” finished third while “Fastest” finished fourth. Films show that although “Fastest” lost ground due to the first incident inside the 3/16 pole, it was he that under right handed urging drifted in and initiated the contact. The two bumped again at about the 1/8 pole but no action was taken by the Board having ruled there was equal culpability between the parties.

SUNDAY 10/04/2015
(1) INQUIRY – 8th RACE – NO CHANGE

The Stewards posted the inquiry sign following the eighth race to review the start of #5. “Clemens Brook”, a 3-5 favorite. Films confirm the mare had every opportunity to break with the field but failed to do so due to her own actions. The horse was therefore declared a starter with no wagers refunded.

(1) INQUIRY – 9th RACE – NO CHANGE
The inquiry sign was illuminated due to some bumping early in the stretch run between the 2 horse, ”Kenai King”, and the 4 horse, “Jen’s Jag”, who was fading. Films show the contact was minor between the two and that no horse was compromised the opportunity at a better placing. The order of finish was left as is.